Saturday Ice Fever #ALSIceBucketChallenge

I was called out a few days ago to do the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge, the viral awareness campaign which I’m sure you are fully aware of. I’ve been very inspired by the whole thing as I feel a kinship with the ALS community. Like ALS, Brain Cancer is a rare neurological disease that doesn’t get a lot of attention or funding. For those of us who battle rare diseases like these, awareness is everything, no matter how it gets out there.

Through out my journey with Brain Cancer, I’ve found that awareness is a bit of an abstract concept for people to grasp. I think its importance can best be described through the famous “Baader-Meinhof Phenomenon”, or what is sometimes called “red car syndrome”. You know what it is, it’s that thing where you see or hear something then suddenly you start seeing or hearing it everywhere.

A quick example of this in my own life is someone I know recently told me that she thinks that Brain Cancer must be on the rise because she keeps hearing all these stories of people getting it. Truth be told, Brain Cancer is not on the rise, it’s still roughly the same amount of people getting diagnosed every year. The reason she feels that way is because she knows me personally and has thus been affected directly by the disease. For years, that has been the most effective way to spread awareness, for you or someone you love to get the disease. The Ice Bucket Challenge, no matter how absurd it may seem, has proven that that doesn’t have to be the case anymore. With a little vision and creativity, it’s now possible to believe that in a world with instant connectivity at your fingertips awareness can spread like wildfire, and that alone can provide hope and healing for those who have had to suffer.

Anyway…thanks for letting me share. Amy and I tried to have a little fun with our challenge and you can check it out below. I hope you enjoy!!!

Much Love,

Alex

