Tame The Dragon

One of the many cool things about doing this blog is the amazing people that I’ve been able to meet. Many of them affected by Brain Cancer (either themselves or their loved ones). Early on in the journey, I met Amanda, a mom of a teen with Brain Cancer. She contacted me, telling me a little bit about her and her son’s (David) story. I was especially touched by the heart, soul, and attitude of David. When David passed, it blindsided me. I barely knew him, but for some reason his passing sent me over the edge. In an act of despair, I wrote a letter, a plea, just asking for people, anyone who’d listen, to pay attention to the injustices of Brain Cancer. I initially did it just for myself as a tool for catharsis, but as I sat there reading it I decided to post it to Facebook and it got a lot of attention. It started a passion to work together with Amanda and other advocates to find creative and innovative ways to push for more effective Brain Cancer research. Last year, Amanda and her husband Richard came out to SoCal to see some friends, so the three of us met up and talked about ways that we could work together. The biggest frustration we all felt was the lack of communication and cohesion amongst researchers and doctors and organizations who are working to find the cure. We asked why there isn’t a tool that exists to share data etc. I mean, after all, we do live in the information age, and big data is all the rage.

I was pleased when I heard from Amanda a few months ago that they had come up with something and she asked me to be a part of it. They’ve started an organization called the Dragon Master Foundation with the mission of “developing and implementing tools and technology to empower brain cancer researchers to collaborate more effectively, and further, to encourage that collaboration to find a path to the cure”.

The ball is just starting to roll on it and so I’ll be keeping you posted on the progress of the organization as it gets going. There are some things you can do right now to help out though.

1.)  Check out the website that just launched: http://www.dragonmasterfoundation.org

2.)  Like the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DragonMasterFoundation

tamedragon

I am so excited to be a part of a team with intelligent “out of the box” thinkers and can’t wait to partner with them (and you) as we tame the dragon that is Brain Cancer…together.

Much Love,

Alex

