Happy Belated 4th!!!

I hope that everyone had an enjoyable and safe 4th of July. For those of you who have lost someone dear to you recently, I hope that you were able to enjoy your time in spite of the void that you may have felt. I spent this week thinking about and visiting my Brain buddy Brad Schilt who at this moment is barely hanging on for his life as his family and friends are facing the inevitability of “holding Brad in the Light, and wishing him the highest evolution”. Even as my heart breaks for Brad and his family, I find it just adding fuel to my fire for leading the fight to finding a cure. In the meantime please send your prayers to Brad’s parents Elena and Alan as well as his sister Erica. Brad just turned 24 years old a few months ago. He made it 10 years after having a childhood tumor removed and in spite of the odds against him, he was working a great job and starting a life of independence when the disease came back with a vengeance. Although when I first met Brad he wasn’t in the greatest shape, he definitely made an imprint on me. His beautiful soul radiated through him in spite of his frail appearance. People ask me, how I can continue to tolerate exposing myself to all the death and despair that Brain Cancer brings and to me the only way that question makes sense  is if I was concerned mostly about myself. I believe I’m beyond that point now and am ready to take on the mantle of rallying the troops so that this doesn’t have to keep happening to people, especially young guys like Brad. I am blessed so far in that I’ve been given a chance to be able to do so.

BRAD! Gonna miss ya, bud!

I spent my 4th with family and friends at Amy’s dad’s place in Laguna Beach. It was a trip to Laguna 6 years ago when I first fell for Amy and I always enjoy being there because of the nostalgia of that memory. Every time we bring friends with us we have a tradition of playing a game of ultimate frisbee on the football field of Laguna Beach High School. We started our day doing that, then enjoyed a BBQ (where Amy’s dad played drums with some local musicians), some beach time, and a fireworks show. The day was mostly awesome because that type of activity wouldn’t have been possible for me 6 months ago. I was also very struck when I talked to our friends Jody and Kenny Garcia. They mentioned that their 5 year old daughter, Leah, has been praying for me every night since I was diagnosed (Jody kept emphasizing how they weren’t exaggerating) and even in church when the pastor asks for people that they can pray for, she shouts my name. That made me cry a little because it made me realize that I still have an army of intercessors thinking of me and praying for me. I told Jody to let Leah know that her prayers are definitely working. Thanks to you as well for your continued prayer and support. The thing about Cancer is that it’s a long struggle and once the hype dies down, people tend to forget that it continues long past the moment of diagnosis and treatment. The other good news is that it has been over 6 months since my last gran mal seizure which means if all goes to plan I can get my license this week and will be able to drive again. I’ll keep you posted on the progress of that. In the meantime, enjoy some pics of our 4th of July adventures.

Much Love,

Alex

