We Can Do It!

In the note I wrote on Facebook, “Join Me on a Mission of Great Importance“, I said that I wouldn’t rest until I saw it become the next viral sensation. Well, to quote Heath Ledger as the Joker in The Dark Knight, “I’m a man of my word!” and I’m now officially exhausted. I also told you that you would feel the wrath of my wife, Amy, if it didn’t go viral, but I’m going to keep her at bay for now and after I finish writing this note I’m going to go lie down and sleep for a week. During that time though I hope that you can help carry the torch and continue to raise awareness about the need for Brain Cancer research. When I was in DC recently, I bought this cup of “Rosie the Riveter” at the Smithsonian for Amy and I want to encourage you with the words of the iconic poster. “We Can do it!!!”

You can see how exhausted I am and why do women like straws so much? (it’s a sincere question, so don’t go there…pervs).

Thank you to everyone who has shared the note on Facebook. Thank you to all who have liked the Operation: ABC Facebook page. Thank you to “Accelerate Brain Cancer Cure” for your willingness to support us and partner with us. Thank you to those who have influence and a listening and active audience that have given me a chance to speak about this important cause. Thank you to those who have encouraged Amanda and David’s family as they are still picking up the pieces from his passing a week ago, and thank you for the encouragement from all the new readers. I would love if you can continue to pass on the link to the blog as this has officially become the headquarters of Operation: “Annihilate Brain Cancer”. I’m very humbled by all this because I’m just a dude with a computer (as well as a cool, beautiful, and supportive wife) and a passion for justice and helping others. This disease doesn’t just affect me, my wife, or my friends and family, but it affects MILLIONS of others as well, and will continue to do so if awareness isn’t spread soon. In the digital age, you now have the power (with just a click of the mouse) to help make huge strides in this cause that will save 10’s of millions of lives including my own. To quote the inspired writing of Marianne Williamson in her book “A Return to Love” (Look, I know you’ve heard this quote a billion times, but sometimes it’s good to hear it again),

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world.”

Sorry if this comes off as insensitive but, frankly, I don’t care what you believe about yourself, I am telling you right now that I believe that you are powerful beyond measure (and I can prove it to you) and I’m making this really easy on you. Just pass this on, just share the note, just spread the word. I’m not asking for money, I’m not asking you to do anything but click the mouse and make a difference. WE CAN DO IT!!!

I’ve always loved this image. So powerful.

This was a comment on one of my previous posts by Angela Cunningham, an ICU nurse who lost her father to the “beast” (as she described Brain Cancer…I like that) 9 months ago,

I truly believe if more people would turn the anger, bitterness, and sadness that comes with having their loved one diagnosed, having to care for them, and then ultimately losing them, and channel it into advocacy, we truly could have more of an impact on getting the attention of others. I’ve always felt, that even though I would try myself alone to take on important causes and fights, that the more back up I have the better equipped we’d be at winning the battle!”

Well put AngelaWe definitely need back up, and we can only get it if more of us with justice and compassion in our hearts would advocate on our behalf. Why does this have to personally afflict people you know to get you to care? Kristie Knodel is a dear and long time family friend. She has Multiple Sclerosis and has been here for me and my family (and encouraging us along the way) throughout my entire journey with Brain Cancer. MS doesn’t have a cure yet either and I am so humbled that she would be an advocate and support on my behalf even though she has her own illness to worry about. Which reminds me, why are races (5k/10k) the only thing that seem to exist to ever get people to participate actively in causes like ours? This is the 21st century people!  I mean don’t get me wrong, races are a fun and a great way to spread awareness and funding for research, but really is that what we need to do to get people to care and participate? I personally hate running so to me that idea is completely illogical, especially when we as a human race are more “connected” than we ever have been in human history. There are 651 million people actively using Facebook these days and as a result we are no longer 6 degrees separated from each other (or Kevin Bacon), but more like 2 or 3 degrees separated, that to me is arms length, which is short enough to mean that we should all care about any diseases that afflict anyone, not just diseases that afflict those you know personally, especially any disease with underfunded research like Brain Cancer. When the Kony Campaign launched (the social media experiment) my generation, especially, proved that we care immensely about justice and other people’s welfare (even those that aren’t in our immediate backyard), contrary to how people want to paint our generation (like that we’re entitled, lazy, narcissistic, etc). David Pearson and his peers have proven that our world is in good hands as we continue to move forward towards progress. Medicine has come a long way but still has a long way to go and as of right now it needs more back up. In terms of the power of your individual and collective voice, there is no better time than right now. You are powerful beyond measure and there are so many examples of this happening in the last few years and in recent months that even history is taking notice, so let’s make history now by getting us to that cure that is “just around the corner”.

Thanks for listening to my rants. I never wanted this responsibility. I just like to make people laugh and help people know that they have value simply because they’re human, and if this is what I have to do to make sure that David’s death as well as the deaths of countless others no longer go in vain, then so be it. I think I’m done for now and am ready to go to slee–zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz — mouth open — ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ — head bobs around — zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz –“what?” — zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ…mouth smack, gibberish…zzzzzzzzz

